NTDA amazed at 2015 Tyre Industry Awards interest

The NTDA has announced, that the new format for the Tyre Industry Awards, where companies are required to submit entries that will be judged by an independent panel of judges from the wider business community, has already proven to be a major success.

NTDA Director, Stefan Hay said: “The Directorate Team has been literally overwhelmed by the number of entries received. It seems like most companies have waited until the final day to ensure their entries are supported by the maximum number of testimonials and other evidence they can muster. It is, however, already clear that the entries are of a very high quality and we anticipate that the judges will have a tough job on deciding who will triumph on the 31st October”.

Today, Friday 31st July, is the closing date and by midday, the NTDA had already received 50 entries across the eight award categories. Stefan Hay continued “The new awards in particular namely REACT Roadside Technician of the Year and Truck and Agricultural Tyre Supplier of the Year have attracted a lot of interest, but all of the awards are being fiercely contested, often by new contenders”.

The awards, now considered the Tyre Industry’s ‘Oscars’ will be presented on the 1st October at a ceremony which will now be sponsored by Sailun Tyres at the Association’s 86th Annual Dinner at the ICC in Birmingham. The dinner itself, which is sponsored by Continental Tyre Group Ltd and which has been sold out for several months, follows the NTDA Tyre Industry Conference, sponsored by Zenises.

This year will also see the return of the NTDA National Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Tyre Industry, sponsored, in 2015, by Nankang Tyre UK and there is already growing speculation as to who the deserving recipient will be.